Ipoh Get Away

It was a plan that Buzzy and I had, but I couldn’t really remember why and when we decided to visit Ipoh. Truthfully, I had only been to Ipoh few times, maybe twice. The first one I think when I was such 13 years ago, or maybe when I was 28? When I was tasked to be a panel at an interview. 

So, I decided to take the ETS. My first time too! It costed me RM35 and a good guy was willing to drop me at KL Sentral at an early morning, thanks dear, I love you! Haha😛 I took the 9 am train and was scheduled to arrive at 1120 am, however the real arrival time was at 1133. I had no problem, it was Serendipity being aired on the train. It was overall, a pleasant trip. 

Upon meeting Buzzy, we decided to first looking for food, both of us were hungry. Buzzy drove from Penang and picked me up at Ipoh Railway Station. Thanks! I love you! (of course). So, our first destination was a hip eatery, a cool place owned by a HANDSOME man, I melted. OWW. The place is called Burps and Giggles. We had a chance to talk to the owner, and he explained that there are few different cafes in the row but you could order and sit anywhere. That means, you can sit at Rockette and order from Burps and Giggles. Each cafe offers different menus, from local and western as well as fusion.🙂 We walked around the place, it is a unique place, Sekeping Kong Heng, houses Plan B and the siblings of the Burps and Giggles. You could capture so much photos of this place, trust me. Both Buzzy and I found this place interesting. We also talked to one of the sellers, the Ais Kepal boy, he told us that the HANDSOME owner’s ambition was to revive the memories of Ipoh oldtown.🙂 I think it works!🙂

After spending few hours there, we walked around the place again to look for street arts! Of course we found them! There are about 7 of them. The weather was kind of hot, but nothing we can’t take. The locals are also friendly to show you the directions in case you get lost, I don’t think you would though. One thing that made us wonder was there’re not so many people in that town even on weekend. Hmmm. We spent few minutes at the Ipoh Tourist Information Centre (for the aircond) hehe but there are a lot of interesting photos and information of Ipoh there, everyone should go there! 

We checked in at the hotel at 3 and spend one hour resting before going to hunt for food again!🙂 We went to have dim sum at Greentown Dim Sum and Nasi Vanggey! Nice! Nice! I thought I wanted to have all kind of dim sums but Buzzy had to remind me that we were about to go eat nasi after that, okay!😛 Nasi Vanggey looked simple and I still can’t understand why it tasted so good. Cukup. :P 

After that we went to Happy 8 Cafe. It’s a beautiful place but I didn’t really like the drink that I’ve ordered. My fault maybe. I order ginger tea (had too much coffee already that day) which was too dark and too spicy…. My throats couldn’t handle it.😦

Then, we drove around and stopped for few photos of Kinta Waterfront.🙂 After that we went back to hotel and had a nice foot reflexology session. After that…. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz….

Second day, we went out early to find for breakfast! We had nice meal at Nasi Ganja…. yumsss… .Sedap!!! and cheap also.😛 After that, we went to Jalan Dato’ Onn Jaafar in our hunt to find more street arts! Of course we’ve found them! Spent few hours then we were back at Sekeping Kong Heng. This time we had drinks at Plan B. :) 

After that, we went to the State Mosque, beautiful building, beautiful area, the Ipoh Heritage Walk…🙂 Before going back to Penang we went to have Mee Rebus Ramli… :) 

We reached Penang at 530 pm and had good steam cappuccino at the Coffee Smith at a new hangout place at Sungai Penang. Have a bit rest, and off to KL at 945pm by MH1167.

 

That was my weekend. :) 

How was yours? 

 

Pengarang: aishahkay

simple young lady, living happy most of the time.

4 thoughts on “Ipoh Get Away”

  1. Setuju! Yg pasal owner burps and giggles yg hensem dan muda tu. He he..

    I love u too… :p

    U didn’t mention about masjid cina?

Tinggalkan Jawapan

