Oats

I’ve found a link to a video for overnight oatmeal. πŸ™‚

I love oats, I always have. This love developed way back in 1996 when I was form two, a junior introduced me to a simple recipe. Oats and water. I didn’t know how I could like the taste of such a plain meal but I liked my first taste of it. I guess it’s rather easy to bear if compared to the taste of some dining hall’s meals.

I used to buy the small packet of instant oat I think it was only RM3.50 at that time and if I had extra money I would buy a packet of 6 small box of Dutch Lady milk, it’s around RM4.00++, 20 years ago. So that would be my go to meal until somehow I became lazier and forgot about eating oats. Didn’t really care about the health benefits but I knew my late mum (was a nurse) also took oats as breakfast and sahur with Anlene. I used to steal her Anlene if I were home. πŸ˜›

Then, I didn’t think I had oats as meals option for years until these few years. Oh, I did consume oats – the 3 in 1 types, instant oatmeal drink. I thought it’s too sweet. Once I started living alone and with Nana – from 2011 sometimes maybe, I restarted having oats, much for health benefit. It’s only plain oats with milk. Somehow these few years back the recipe for overnight oats made their debuts and I did try them.

I guess overnight oats taste better – of course. My base ingredients would be oats and milk. I did try few toppings – vanilla syrup, caramel syrup, banana, chocolate bar, sunflower seeds, blueberries, cranberries, dates, buah tin (forget nama Inggeris dia) as well as prunes.

Basically my choice of toppings depend on how much money I have haha. Blueberries are expensive here in Malaysia. Mostly I used dried fruits. They might not as healthy as fresh fruits but they will do.

I like overnight oats, it’s too easy to prepare and saves me a lot of time. I don’t need to think where and what to have breakfast…. save duit juga!

I also love oats to the extend I put oats in my jemput2 pisang and lempeng too. πŸ™‚ They are healthier…

Now I think I nak try making soups with oats. There must be some recipes on the webs somewhere.

Till then! Let’s have some oat!

p.s : I had prunes overnight oats this morning for sahur.

Pengarang: aishahkay

simple young lady, living happy most of the time.

Tinggalkan Jawapan

